Questions d'entretien pour Market Analyst

11 k

question(s) d'entretien pour Market Analyst partagée(s) par les candidats

Principales questions d'entretien

Trier: Pertinence|Populaires|Date
Expedia Group
On a demandé à un Market Manager...9 septembre 2009

How would you sell me eggnog in Florida in the summer?

9 réponses

I'd add rum and an umbrella and sell it as a cocktail.

Frozen on a stick

(grunch) (that's I determined my answer before reading other posts) freeze it and add rum. Moins

Afficher plus de réponses
Goldman Sachs

Brain Teaser: A snail goes up 3 feet during the day and falls 1 foot at night. How long does it take him to go up 10 feet?

6 réponses

similar question Moins

Almost seems too could simply say that the snail goes up 3 and down 1 every day, so it nets 2 ft which at that rate would take ten days. IMO, i think its important to ask what time of day it starts on the first day to give a more accurate answer... Also geographic location (it could be Barrow Alaska during winter, completely changing your answer. Moins

It doesn't say how long does it take him to make it ten feet up the wall. It just says, how long does it take for him to move up ten feet. That's 3 1/3 days (assuming equal movement throughout the day). Although he will have moved "up" ten feet, he will have also fallen back and will not be ten feet up the wall. Of course, you can also interpret it as the other answers suggest. Moins

Afficher plus de réponses
BNP Paribas

Video interview: 1) why this division 2) tell me about a recent news 3) effect of the fed hike on the bond market 4) additional comments

7 réponses

Yes, it was realized through the Sonru platform

Hi again, please if you still remember, could go recall what the sales and trading group exercises consisted of? Also was there any technical aspect of the interview. The AC invitation email is exactly as you've described but I don't want to be blindsided by a technical interview so I'd just like to confirm. Thank you! Moins

S&T excercise: it is a stock picking exercise. Your team has 20 min to find the right stock, and the choice depends on the client's needs. In addition, the HRs will communicate 2 market news during this session: 1 at the beginning (market opening), 1 after 10 min. These news will obviously affect the choice. The individual interview could be technical, it depends on who will interview you: I was asked to talk about econometrics aspects, another candidate was asked to talk about IRS etc..but don't worry about it because they do not require you to know everything, they are more focused on your personality. Moins

Afficher plus de réponses

You have 2 3 gallon bucket, one 5 gallon bucket. How do you get 4 gallons of water?

6 réponses

fill the 5 gallon > fill the 3 gallon with the 5 gallon > empty 3 gallon > put remaining 2 gallons from 5 gallon to 3 gallon > fill 5 gallon > fill the last gallon from the 3 gallon with the 5 gallon bucket > you are left with 4 gallons in the 5 gallon Moins

fill 3 gallon bucket, fill the 5 gallon bucket with the 3 gallon fill the 3 gallon bucket again, fill 2 gallon of the 3 to the 5 gallon one, now there is 1 gallon left in the 3 gallon bucket empty the 5 gallon bucket and fill the 1 gallon into the 5 gallon bucket fill the 3 gallon bucket. now you have 4 gallon water, 1 in the 5 gallon bucket and 3 in the 3 gallon bucket Moins

Place the 3 gallon bucket upside-down inside the 5gal bucket...fill up the 5 gallon bucket and remove the 3 gallon to get the 2 gallons...then repeat. (This is assuming the 3 gallon bucket fits in the 5 gallon bucket.) Moins

Afficher plus de réponses

Tell me the different ways that you can calculate VaR (Value at Risk).

2 réponses

Typically there are 3 ways in the industry to calculate VaR: 1. Historical (by far the most common, IME) 2. Parametric (not very useful, as returns tend to not be normal, unless you use EVT) 3. Monte Carlo (more often used in fixed income and other credit/debt portfolios than other asset classes) Moins

I think I said Monte Carlo, delta, gamma and Black-Scholes.


Question 5 : An ad campaign has a CPC = $0.5, a conversion rate = 3% and an average transaction value of $260.What is the Cost of Sales of the campaign (cost of the ad campaign divided by the revenues generated, in percentage)? Question 6 : With a margin on revenues of 13%, an average transaction value of $290 and a conversion rate = 0.7%, what is the maximum CPC an advertiser can afford without losing money (in dollar)? Question 7 : During his browsing, a user is randomly exposed to two ad banners A & B. Those two banners are equally likely to be shown. One and only one banner is shown per page. After two pages of browsing, what’s the probability that the user was shown only banners A (in percentage)? Question 8 : A/B Testing campaign: Measuring the impact of Criteo retargeting ads compared to a control group. Number of transactions on client site : • Group A exposed to Criteo banners 600,000 • Group B Control group not exposed 50,000a. b. What incremental revenues per user CompanyA has generated for the client advertiser (in dollar, rounded to the cent)? c. What total incremental revenues CompanyA has generated for the client advertiser? Total incremental revenue is simply the incremental revenue per user multiplied by the number of users exposed to Company A's retargeting. d. With $200.000 revenues following clicks on banners for group A (post click), what is the related post view (view through) effect in revenues generated by CompanyA campaign? View through effects on revenues are a bit tricky as they would require view through conversion tracking. A post impression visit that results in a transaction can be credited as a 'view through conversion'. If CompanyA is not tracking revenue on post-impression ('view through') visits, then you can estimate it by taking the average revenue per transaction - in this case $200,000 - and divide it by the number of post-click transactions in group A. This would give you the average revenue per transaction, often referred to as Average Order Value. You could then take the Average Order Value and multiply it by the number of view through conversions generated by Company A.

4 réponses

Answer 5 CPC $0.5 meaning each click cost $0.5 Conversion rate of 3% means that for 100 clicks, 3 sales are done 100 clicks generate 3 x $260 100 clicks = $780 Cost = 100 * 0,5 = $50 50/780 = 6,4% Moins

maxCPC: conversion rate x average transaction value x margin 0,007 x 290 x 0,13= 0,26 dollars Moins

Answer 5: (CPC/CVR)/AOV=(0.5/0.03)/260=6.4%

Afficher plus de réponses

My interview started with she asking me questions from my resume. She asked me how my job related to the Market Analyst position and then she asked me some behavioural questions: • What a good team was for me and tell an example of a time I worked with a team and achieved good results • In my view, how my relationship with the manager should be and how I managed this relationship in the past • Why I want to work for Nielsen and what are my future goals • What are my three major strengths • Where do l think I need to improve After that she asked me: • about my salary range and if the proposed salary and benefits was OK for me • if I am legally able to work in Canada, and • when I am available to start They then finally concluded the interview by reviewing the position, the company, the future perspectives and trainings with me. If you succeed, Nielsen will contact you and you will get a case to present in your final interview along with two managers (people that will work with you – your manager and the account director). So, this third interview will also be conducted in person with the person who would make the final decision about hiring. For the case, you will likely be given some sales data for Company A and will have to prepare a short powerpoint presentation incorporating this data. This will test three things: 1. Your ability to analyze the data 2. You ability to provide recommendations based on the analysis 3. You presentation style / ability to remain calm and professional

2 réponses

A good advice is: if you do not know the answer to one of their questions regarding the case, do not pretend to know it and try to talk around it. You may not believe me, but they do not expect you to be an expert and would rather you say something like, “No, I did not notice that” or “I will look into that later” (the 2nd response would be more for presenting to clients) than pretending to know something and trying to talk AROUND it. It happened to me, and this is a test to test you. Don’t fall for that! As for the interview, it started with a brief introduction followed by the business case analysis and a final discussion about the company and the position: introduction: the 2 minutes introductory speech, how my past experience relates to the position, why I want to work at Nielsen and some specific questions (computer skills, experience with what type of analysis, and type of negotiations and seminars conducted) business case: I present the case over 10 minutes (case review, conclusion and recommendations - focusing on the action plan and matrix). I was asked to point-out the three main issues (lost of distribution, lack of product on the shelves, impact of the package decrease), if it would be a good idea to decrease even more the price to solve the problem (which I said no), and which recommendations would give immediate impact on the business (those related to distribution). discussions about the company and the position: the interviewers explained me that I would be working along with a team of consultants nationwide. As Market Analyst I would get three weeks of initial training and work at the office. (Visits to clients are reserved to Senior Analysts - so I can expect to do it perhaps after 1-2 years). My advice here is that due to my comprehensive preparation I was confident and I think they realized it and appreciated the amount of effort I have dedicated to the business case and searching the firm. I tried to "break the ice" by trying to engage all of them in the conversation and my answers, and because they were all very friendly and nice, the interview occurred in a relaxed and outgoing way. So, as you see, from my experience all three interviews went very well. Everybody was very nice and because the analytic test you will have to take determines your level of skill, the interviews will determine more of a fit. GOOD LUCK!!! Moins

Could you please tell me how long did it take Nielsen to extend an offer to you after the final third round case interview ? also, did you negotiate the salary / benefits ? Moins

Procter & Gamble

With your understanding of your country and its people, if you were to guess what two perfect strangers were talking about this morning at the bus stop, what would it be?

4 réponses

what a good day it will be

Gm! do you think with the increase in the ticket prices, we will find places to sit, or still we will be paying more and standing the whole time! Moins

did you watch the match yesterday? and what do you think about next round? ( CAN 2019) Moins

Afficher plus de réponses

Most difficult question was "What is your biggest weakness in your performance results? Tough to answer without revealing your flaws.

3 réponses

Sometimes i focus too much on one thing and don't look at the overall picture. For instance I sometimes get caught up in homework that doesnt require as much effort as another assignment. Moins

I always say that my greatest strength can also be my greatest weakness. I see them as two sides of a similar coin. I tend to hold others to the expectations and standards to which I hold myself accountable, but I am more likely to give others the benefit of the doubt than I give myself. Moins

I said I sometimes became too perfectionistic in my expectations from my team.


In the language you apply for, please describe some of the challenges and opportunities you feel this role may bring If 35 have A, 50 have B, 70 have C, 20 have AB, 30 have BC, 15 have AC and 10 have ABC then how many have only A?

3 réponses

Lol you're all wrong. The OP didnt provide the correct variables.

10 have ABC, 20 have AB -> 20-10=10 have just AB 15 have AC -> 15-10=5 have just AC 10AB+5AC+10ABC=25 people with not just A 35 people have A - 25 people with not just A = 10 people with just A Moins

I answered 10

1 - 10 sur 10 858 questions d'entretien d'embauche

Consultez les questions posées en entretiens pour des emplois similaires

market researcherbusiness analystpricing analystmarket intelligence managerresearch analystdata analyst

Glassdoor propose 10 858 questions et rapports d'entretien pour le poste de Market analyst. Préparez votre entretien. Découvrez la boîte. Décrochez le job.