Avis sur Cengage | Glassdoor.ch

Avis sur Cengage

Mis à jour le 19 sept. 2019

Pour filtrer les avis, ou .

1274 avis trouvés

4.0
ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
Tendances des évaluationsTendances des évaluations
78%
Recommandent à un ami
89%
Approuvent le PDG
Cengage CEO Michael Hansen
Michael Hansen
736 évaluations
  1. Utile (2)

    « Great culture, increasing pay is an opportunity but they're working on that. »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Learning Consultant à Independence, KY
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez Cengage à temps plein depuis plus d'un an

    Avantages

    Culture Atmosphere Ethos Great first step Benefits Work- life balance Family- like atmosphere Non- micro managing style If you buy- in and go to work with a passionate attitude you will succeed.

    Inconvénients

    Salary Very senior individuals in higher positions

    Conseils à la direction

    Pay is increasing, that's all they need to focus on. They do a great job!

    Cengage2019-07-17

    Réponse de Cengage

    July 30, 2019CEO

    Thanks for taking time to share your experience at Cengage. I'm particularly pleased to see you reference our culture and ethos, which you know is a priority for me. I also appreciate that, while you listed salary as a con, you noted in your advice to management that it is an area ...

    Dérouler
  2. Utile (14)

    « Great Employees, Clueless Management »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Content Developer 
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue neutre
    Pas d'avis sur le PDG

    Je travaille chez Cengage à temps plein depuis plus de 10 ans

    Avantages

    The employees in the trenches, the ones doing the actual work, are fabulous. The flexibility (being able to work from home one day a week, etc.) is also fabulous. I even enjoy the actual work.

    Inconvénients

    The payscale has absolutely *no* transparency (even my supervisor doesn’t know what the pay range of my position is, let alone me), and raises, which have been capped at 1% a year for at least the last five years, were cut to 0.5% this year. (2019) No bonuses at all for employees not in management or sales.

    Conseils à la direction

    Give your employees a real raise! After this last pay “raise” of 0.5% (yes, we talk about it on our teams, no one on mine got more than 0.5%), morale is the lowest I’ve seen in my 20+ years with this company. People I know who are very productive employees are starting to look for jobs elsewhere now that the job market is opening up.

    Cengage2019-07-17

    Réponse de Cengage

    July 26, 2019CPO

    Feedback is key to our efforts to continually improve, so thanks for your post. If you’d like to reach out to me directly, I’m eager to learn more about your experience. And I’d be happy to provide context regarding our approach to compensation and improvements already being made ...

    Dérouler
  3. Utile (1)

    « Great company with great employees »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Product Assistant à Mason, OH
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez Cengage à temps plein depuis plus d'un an

    Avantages

    Fun and friendly environment

    Inconvénients

    Compensation could be improved and clarity could be added for certain systems and role responsibilities

    Cengage2019-07-18
  4. « Love »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Learning Consultant à New York, NY
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez Cengage à temps plein depuis plus d'un an

    Avantages

    Support, people, and mission make this a great place to be.

    Inconvénients

    None at this time.

    Cengage2019-07-16
  5. Utile (4)

    « Amazing Company Driving Positive Change »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Marketing Manager à Clifton Park, NY
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez Cengage à temps plein depuis plus de 10 ans

    Avantages

    - The culture is positive, motivating and very collaborative - Work brings great opportunities for professional development - The CEO and Executive Team are top leaders with great vision and corporate strategy - benefits are good - Everyone is so nice, it's very unusual to have such a large group of genuine, hard working individuals

    Inconvénients

    The company is a leader in driving change in education, which is amazing and exciting to be a part of, but things move fast, so having an adaptable work style would be beneficial to employees.

    Conseils à la direction

    Keep up the amazing job! I am super excited to be part of your team and under your direction. You've always made the right decisions and implemented strong strategies for business success. Lead and I will follow.

    Cengage2019-06-21
  6. « Amazing Company! »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Customer Technical Support à Independence, KY
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez Cengage à temps plein moins d'un an

    Avantages

    Unbelievable company that really cares about their employees.

    Inconvénients

    There aren’t any cons I know to add.

    Cengage2019-07-02
  7. Utile (17)

    « Decent place to work, but constant fear of being randomly laid off. »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Employé anonyme 
    Recommande
    Point de vue négatif
    Pas d'avis sur le PDG

    Je travaille chez Cengage à temps plein depuis plus de 8 ans

    Avantages

    - relaxed culture - lots of small perks such as volunteer days, happy hours, flex time

    Inconvénients

    - stagnant wages. annual raises don't keep up with inflation. - no job security at all. seems like every day, jobs are outsourced to overseas vendors or replaced with visa workers. - promotion opportunities are rare

    Conseils à la direction

    Cut once, and cut deep. Constant layoffs and outsourcing drive top talent to spend a lot of their time looking for opportunities elsewhere. Reward loyalty rather than driving away long term employees.

    Cengage2019-06-06
  8. « Good Company to work for. »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Administrative Assistant à Mason, OH
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez Cengage à temps plein plus de 10 ans

    Avantages

    Cengage always treated me fairly. No complaints.

    Inconvénients

    No cons at this time.

    Conseils à la direction

    Never stop being courageous and fearless. Always encourage innovation.

    Cengage2019-06-25
  9. Utile (22)

    « Get ready to sit on video calls all day... even though you just commutes all the way in »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Frontend Developer à Boston, MA
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue neutre
    Approuve le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez Cengage à temps plein moins d'un an

    Avantages

    Pay, benefits and people are not bad. Pay is on the low side.

    Inconvénients

    - So much change (every week) that what you may enjoy or like about the company and culture one day, changes the next - Lots of cooperate bull crap thrown around by the c-level leadership. They say they are transparent but yet the rational behind decisions fails to make any sense. What are the real reasons? - CTO compared Cengage to Amazon. Got news for you bro, Cengage is definitely not on the same level as Amazon... nor is any talent from your company good enough to work on top level tech. - Remote work flexibility taken away, for no reason, even though company has many locations and teams are spread out everywhere. Get ready to commute all the way to the office just to sit on video calls all day with your teams. If everyone is going to sit on video calls, why not let them work remote if they want to? - Tech, coding, organization and agile environments are HACKED together at best. Cengage’s products, frontend code and backend code are at a level of quality that at any another tech company would be completely unacceptable. If you’re a dev about to work here, get ready to patch and hack things together to meet deadlines, gain bad development habits and spend hours frustrated over badly coded projects.

    Dérouler

    Conseils à la direction

    - Let people work remote if they want to. You’re a remote company (Whether you want to deny it or not) with a team spread across the nation. Do yourself a favor and play on the strength of being a remote company to gain and KEEP actual talent to build your platforms. - Stop settling for stacking up tech debt. Give your teams time to do things and do things right. As well as time to improve past coding crap.

    Cengage2019-06-08

    Réponse de Cengage

    June 17, 2019

    Thanks for taking the time to share this feedback on your experience with Cengage. I’m sorry to hear that our leadership and environment did not meet your expectations of a world class organization. I’d like to share my perspective on a few of your comments. Change is a constant ...

    Dérouler
  10. Utile (1)

    « Great Culture »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Inside Sales à Independence, KY
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez Cengage à temps plein depuis moins d'un an

    Avantages

    •culture •leadership teams •opportunities for growth •inclusion • vast learning options

    Inconvénients

    •limited flex time in current role •high cost for benefits

    Conseils à la direction

    A great sales leader doesn't necessarily make a good manager.

    Cengage2019-06-20
1274 avis trouvés
</>Intégrer